Emotional Intelligence

What does this mean? Emotional Intelligence. It’s the buzz word of the 21st century and forever. Merriam Webster’s dictionary defines emotion as a conscious mental reaction (as anger or fear) subjectively experienced as strong feeling usually directed toward a specific object (person) and typically accompanied by physiological and behavioral changes in the body.

I’m 54 years old now and looking back I was really emotional starting in my 8th grade until my 39th year of life towards people. I felt most of the negative behavioral and social emotions like anger, anxiety, embarassment, jealousy, frustration, humiliation, resentment, hurt, shyness compounded by no self-confidence whatsoever. I am also petty. I contributed these issues with my upbringing. You see my culture is respect for elders and the phrase “be seen but not heard.” I attributed this to happiness, joy and love. I am really a happy person who loves to laugh and make people laugh.

When I turned 40, my primary care physician prescribed an anti-anxiety drug. The feeling was like the heavens opening up literally. The feeling was so good. I found myself. All those personal issues I had “Gone!” just like that and I gained self-confidence. Am I emotionally intelligent? Maybe yes but with help which means I deceived you. Photo is from Robert Plutchik’s Wheel of Emotions (Wikipedia).

One thought on “Emotional Intelligence

Leave a Reply

