6.A.4. Gold Mask Of Agamemnon

Books about Greek mythology interests me when I was in my high school years. I learned about Hercules, Zeus, Athena, Trojan War, city of Troy (Oh! Reminds me of the film Troy starring Brad Pitt, Orlando Bloom, Eric Bana …), etc. and what a moment in my life I’m in Greek soil apart from Italy. Europe was the cradle of civilization.

Here is the fascinating funeral gold Mask of Agamemnon. It has been lauded as the “Mona Lisa of prehistory”. Agamemnon was described as “very steadfast” and “unbowed”.

Mythical legends make him the king of Mycenae. When Helen, the wife of Menelaus, was taken to Troy by Paris, Agamemnon commanded the united Greek armed forces in the ensuing Trojan War.

The Mask of Agamemnon which was discovered by Heinrich Schliemann in 1876 at Mycenae, now believed to pre-date the legendary Trojan War by 300 years. (Wikipedia)

Leave a Reply

